BETA This is our new website. We would appreciate your feedback on it.

Conservation areas

Conservation areas are designated areas considered to be of special architectural or historic interest. Areas are selected as a conservation area to preserve their character and appearance. The Isle of Wight has 36 conservation areas as detailed in the table below. The boundary maps, character appraisals and article 4 directions can also be viewed below. You can also use our conservation area map.

Historic England provides further information on conservation areas.

Conservation areaDesignation dateConservation areaDesignation dateConservation areaDesignation date
Arreton14 July 1983Bembridge17 May 2011Bonchurch19 April 1970
Brading19 April 1971Briary

12 July 1979

Brighstone15 December 1969

23 December 2009


15 December 1969

Carisbrooke 15 December 1969
Church Place21 June 2012Cowes

15 December 1969

East Cowes (Esplanade)4 April 2006
East Cowes (Town Centre)

11 January 2008

Freshwater Bay

23 December 2009

19 April 1971
Hulverstone23 December 2009Mottistone 23 December 2009
Newport 15 December 1969
Newtown19 April 1971Norton Green10 May 1996Pound Green12 July 1979
Ryde 15 December 1969
Ryde St. Johns

6 December 1988

Sandown27 April 2011

19 April 1971

Shalfleet 19 April 1971
Shanklin 19 April 1971

15 December 1969

St. Helens

31 March 1998

St. Helens (The Duver)20 June 2007
St. Lawrence23 October 1986Totland Bay

21 June 2012

Ventnor10 June 1994
Whippingham3 November 2004Whitecroft

25 August 2004

Yarmouth 15 December 1969

Contact information

Planning and Infrastructure

Seaclose Offices
Fairlee Road
Isle of Wight
PO30 2QS

Monday to Thursday 8.30am to 5pm
Friday 8.30am to 4.30pm